Board Information


The Nevada State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners was created in 1919 by the Nevada State Legislature for the protection of the public and their animals. It is composed of eight members appointed by the Governor. Six members must be licensed veterinarians, one member must be a licensed veterinary technician, and one member must be a member of the general public. Members who are licensees must have graduated from an approved veterinary college or veterinary technician program, as applicable, must have been lawfully engaged in the practice of veterinary medicine for at least five years. All appointees must be residents in the State of Nevada. The Board regulates the standards of conduct for the profession, licenses veterinarians, veterinary technicians and veterinary facilities, reviews complaints and takes disciplinary action against licensees who have violated the Nevada Veterinary Medicine Practice Act (NRS/NAC 638).

Board Members

Steve Damonte, DVM

Board President - Reno

James O'Dea, DVM

Board Vice President - Las Vegas

Deborah White, DVM

Board Treasurer - Las Vegas

John Bullard, DVM

Board Member - Las Vegas

Michael Knehr, DVM

Board Member - Las Vegas

Jacqueline Peterson

Board Public Member - Las Vegas

Stacy Hosking, DVM

Board Member - Reno

Crystal Vaquera, LVT

Board Member - Las Vegas